Asking the Girls, Part 2

Now that I had my bridesmaids, I wanted to do something special for the younger ladies in my life. With six nieces that mean the world to me, there was no doubt in my mind that I wanted all of them in the wedding.

Five of the six

Five of the six, along with Lil Wingman as a baby

Shortly after we got engaged, we invited the family to dinner to celebrate. I wanted to make it special for the girls, so I got them each a flower and a card. Then, in the middle of a very crowded restaurant  I stood at the head of the table and read the following poem:

When I was just a little girl,
About the size of you,
I dreamed one day I’d fall in love
And then get married, too.
So now that I am all grown up,
About to be a bride,
I want you all to be involved,
To be right by my side.
For it is common knowledge that
A wedding’s not complete,
Without a group of flower girls
Who are pretty, smart, and sweet!
So ladies, I am asking you,
Without much more ado
Would you be our flower girls?
We hope you say “I do!”

(I don’t remember where I found the poem, but I definitely did not write it myself, save for a couple changes near the end to make it a “plural ask.” Mrs. Archer used the same poem to ask her little ladies!)

Needless to say I didn’t get through more than the first two lines without tearing up (I was pretty weepy in the first few months of our engagement — it was a very emotional time!). The girls were all so sweet and let me finish the poem without laughing.

Watching Aunt Maria fail to keep it together.

“Auntie Airplane, please try to keep it together.”

Then it was time for hugs, excitement, and celebration!

d9a57e5703d49c05da9df4150ee37736

1fb43e798b5b37da567d65fbf6c68a51

613e937458d0b5ccbcdc3c61d915eaba

02bdd2bd1e76aab58f7a800ea81361d0

b0b742ecb30dfbdb9b65af442f33edb4

I get some pretty mixed reactions when I tell people that I am having so many young ladies in the wedding, but I wouldn’t have it any other way. I absolutely cannot wait to have them all join in the festivities.

Such hams

Are you having any youngsters in your wedding?

(All photos personal.)

3 thoughts on “Asking the Girls, Part 2

  1. Awwwwwwwww…….so super sweet to remember that special night again that we celebrated your engagement! The girls are all so honored to be a part of the festivities! Love love love how you did it too:) so much fun for them, they will remember it forever! Xoxo

  2. Pingback: Checks and Not-Yet-Checks | Troy and Maria's Wedding

Leave a Reply

