Engagement Photos on my Mind: The DIY Element

I am not a crafty person (and trust me, this is not a modesty thing — I suck at them), but there was one part of our engagement shoot that necessitated a DIY project, mostly because I wasn’t about to shell out the cash to buy the product online.

I’ve always loved the use of signs in save the date photos. The chalkboard is one that is really popular right now…

chalkboard-sweet-engagement-shoot005Photo by Casandra at Caspix / Featured on Polka Dot Bride

20090329melizza010Photo by: Nessa K / Featured on Inspired by This

And then there is the bunting craze, exemplified here by the lovely Mrs. Unicycle

front04Still love those shoes! / Photo by Jennifer Shaffer Photography

Thinking I wanted to go in a slightly different direction, I started searching Etsy for something a little simple, a little elegant, a lot Airplane.

I found this wooden sign and, although the price tag was a little out of our budget, I figured I could use it as inspiration for my own wooden sign project.

il_570xN.322930002

Sign produced and photographed by Kimberly in her Etsy store, SignsToLiveBy

I purchased a plain wooden sign from Michael’s and painted it white.

JgH5CO9liXngmPdG-apSyXp4urardEox34qqjtsQ9Fo

Oooh, that’s a good deal on ice cream… / Photo: personal

Then I searched for hours to try and find a method of transposing printed letters onto the white background. A couple of failed attempts with Mod Podge later, I decided stenciling would be the easiest route. I was even able to find the same font (“Scriptina“) that the Etsy artist used on the inspiration sign.

giCOAcZyPnfudtHyg0GlUFCGmIlAzbGzNFmE5aZ0mbg

Yeah, 10 for $3 corn! / Photo: personal

I used the stencil and some black paint to carefully fill in the letters. Apparently I wasn’t careful enough — in typical Miss Airplane fashion, the black paint I used bled everywhere under the stencil, leaving some very splotchy and not perfect lines (see, this is why I am not a craft person).

But, I had gotten this far and I was determined to make it work. I took a break for a couple days to allow my eyes to uncross from all the stencil concentration, and then I started working on touching up the letters. Finally, I sanded the edges a bit to give it a “weathered” look.

Here is the final product:

photo 2 (1)

Photo: personal

I think it actually turned out quite good! It looks a little “rustic” and definitely homemade, which I am ok with.

You’ll see it in action soon in our save the date reveal. Since the photos, it has found a place on top of one of the bookshelves in our living room.

photo 1 (1)

It doesn’t make much sense as a home decoration, but I haven’t quite been ready to part with it yet. Perhaps one day I’ll pass it on to another bride to use in her photos.

Any other bees use signs in their save the date photos?

Leave a Reply

