Landing Page: Our Wedding Website

It came as no surprise to many of our friends and family that I had a URL secured and a wedding website built less than two days after Mr. Plane popped the question. While I don’t consider my page to be anything extravagant, or even overly original, I wanted a space that we could direct our guests to that would contain pertinent information without being too complicated to navigate. If you’re looking to do something similar, here’s a preview of what I did.

(All images screenshotted by yours truly — some photos by studiOsnap, others personal)

First up, the homepage (please excuse the blackouts).

homeOur URL was simple: Mr.PlaneFirstNameAndMissAirplaneFirstName’sWedding.com. I used WordPress to create the site with the help of the theme Forever by Automattic. Again — super simple, clean, bright. Exactly what I wanted. Along the top you can see the menu of options for guests to choose from. Under our photo is kind of a highlight of what visitors might need at first glance.

2Below the fold, as they say, is a quick thank you to your family and friends as well as a cute little countdown ticker I got from The Knot.

Next up is our FAQ section.

faq

The purpose of the section is to answer any questions I guessed would be frequent ones: “Where will it be?” “What should I wear?” “Will there be anything to eat?” “When should I RSVP by?” Mama Plane was a little hesitant about me posting the questions about the “dress code,” but I think I worded the answers politely enough that no one should be offended in any way.

We did a photo section that has a drop-down for a few different categories of photos…

photos

And sections for our registries and song requests…

reg

song

The logistics page told everyone where they needed to be (with clickable map links that I hope will be helpful)…

log

And finally, a guestbook for visitors to leave messages and well-wishes. If I’m ever feeling a little down, I come here and read the notes from our family and friends. We are truly surrounded by love.

gbook

And there you have it! I plan on adding to and changing the site as necessary, but as I said, I did not want to even attempt a complicated site with all the bells and whistles (to those of you that can build those types of websites in your sleep, my hat goes off to you — what little I know about HTML could fit on a fortune cookie paper). For us, simple was definitely the way to go. I hope our guests appreciate the effort and visit often!

Did you build a wedding website? Do you think your guests found it helpful?

Leave a Reply

