Oh my, 99

Today marks the 99 day sprint to the wedding day. Hive, I have been contemplating this fact since I woke up this morning, and it is really a strange feeling.

keep-calm-only-99-days-to-go

Image via the Keep Calm O-Matic

Mr. Plane proposed exactly 447 days ago. I remember gearing up for wedding planning and thinking we had so much time, too much time, in fact. I wanted it to be here now! Slowly but surely we made it to the year mark, and then 6 months. Now we are down to 99 days, and next week will be only 3 months to go. My, how time flies…

I think about how much we still have to get done before the wedding, and how much we have accomplished. I have also been feeling slightly indifferent to some of the projects that I’ve been putting off. At this point, at the end of the day, we have all the makings of a wedding — a venue, a pastor, our friends and family. At the end of the day we will be married, even if I never get around to sewing that lace border on my aisle runner or making signs for the dessert table.

The other day, Mr. Plane and I had a rare weekday evening together. We had to decide between working on wedding projects or going for a bike ride together. We chose to leave the wedding stuff at home and ended up on a nice long bike ride. I think we even left most of the wedding talk at home and just chatted about our days, our jobs, and the scenery we encountered during our ride. As simple as it sounds, it was a perfectly simple and relaxing way to spend the evening, and I like to think there will be many more evenings just like that…when the wedding is over.

There’s still a lot to do, but I am feeling the sort of peace that is only sometimes punctuated by moments of urgency and anxiety — not the other way around, thankfully. Let’s hope I can keep it that way for the next 99 days!

How were you feeling at the 99 day mark? Am I delusional for feeling so calm about all of this?

Leave a Reply

