Dressing the Crew: The Mamas

Now that the wedding party is officially and properly clothed, it was time for the mamas to make their dress decisions!

First and foremost, I want both my and Mr. Plane’s moms to feel comfortable and beautiful on the day of the wedding. They both know how to dress themselves, and I was not about to dictate color, style, or designer. Well, ok, maybe I dictated color a little bit — because we have so many different shades of grey in the bridal party, I asked that they just not pick a grey (or a white!) dress.

FMIL Plane went to work early and tried on a few different styles before settling on a light purple tea-length dress with a tiered skirt and a blingy belt.

Image

Dress from Younkers, no longer available online. / Personal photo

Mama Plane took a little bit longer to find exactly what she wanted. In fact, she bought four different dresses before she found this one in a resale store! It comes with a sheer wrap that she is considering making into sleeves for the ceremony.

photo 2

Dress by Jordan Fashions, no longer available online. / Personal photo

Although we didn’t plan it, both mothers ended up with purple dresses! I personally think they are very complimentary to each other and will look great in photos.

Throughout her dress search, one thing Mama Plane knew she would definitely not be wearing is her own wedding dress — not only because she would never wear white to a wedding as a guest, but also because she had previously bestowed the dress upon me for a “something borrowed” part of my own wedding.

Image

Personal photo

Mama and Papa Plane have been married for almost 30 years, and I feel like using her wedding dress in my own wedding will not only honor that union, but will also hopefully have the same effect of a long and happy marriage for Mr. Plane and I.

While the dress is not exactly a style I would wear as-is, there are plenty of options as to what might become of Mama Plane’s wedding dress.

Image

Close-up of the lace ‘bib’ on the front of the dress. / Personal photo

Some of the options I am considering include: using a sleeve to wrap my bouquet, hemming the lace into the neckline of my dress, getting hankies made for parent gifts, or using the fabric to make a ring pillow.

One thing I know for sure is that Mama Plane doesn’t mind what I do with the dress, or if I use it at all. Being the super sentimental person that she is (ok, maybe not in this case), she said that if I didn’t use her dress, it would go to Good Will, where it would likely end up as a Bride of Frankenstein Halloween costume! I absolutely can’t let that happen to my mom’s wedding dress, so I need your help!

How do you think I should use Mama Plane’s dress on my wedding day?

Leave a Reply

