Boarding Pass: Airplane Invitation Inspiration

I’m incredibly excited to start discussing our invitations, because they have been the bane of my existence for the past several months. Now that they are on their way to their new homes with our friends and family, I can finally show you guys how we went from our original inspiration, through several iterations of invite design, and finally to the final product that shipped out earlier this week.

Starting in on the invitation process, I knew one thing for certain: I would be designing and crafting these invites on my own. Mama Plane had graciously offered to print whatever I came up with (much as she printed our lovely save the date cards) at the family print shop, which means all I really needed to worry about was design.

Off to Etsy I went for some inspiration. Here’s what I found:

il_570xN.205878681

Modern Wedding Invitation by Shine Wedding Invitations via Etsy

il_570xN.209037520

The Modern Wedding Invitation by Cracked Designs via Etsy

il_570xN.345707861

Modern & Chic Wedding by Paperee via Etsy

il_570xN.299676936

Pocket Folder Invitation Suite in Asymmetrical Ribbons by Dear LC via Etsy

il_570xN.226034306

Modern Circles Wedding Invitation by Shine Wedding Invitations via Etsy

As you can see, most of these invitations have very similar characteristics: white paper, clean lines, subtle pops of color. Simply put, I felt I could easily replicate some of these designs while putting my own creative twist on the project. I started to work on design, and that’s when Mr. Plane stepped in to offer his opinion. More on the design process next time!

Where did you turn for invitation inspiration? Any other DIY invite brides out there?

Leave a Reply

