Boarding Pass: Airplane Invitation Reveal

Although this was a long and laborious process, I am thrilled with how our invitations came out. I took our new inspiration and gave it some personal touches, recreating the design to fit my No. 10 pocket fold and, of course, adding some airplanes.

Here is the final product:

(All photos personal.)

IMG_5568

IMG_5563

IMG_5570

WBedited2

WBeditied1

I won’t bore you with all of the hurdles that came with designing, printing, and assembling 104 of these beauties, but know there were plenty.

WBedited4

WBedited5

IMG_5583

My favorite aspect of our invites: the airplanes, of course!

In case you are counting, each invite consists of eleven pieces (fourteen if you count the stamps!).

Special shout out to Mr. Plane for cutting every single one of the map mats to fit exactly into the pocket fold. In exchange, I have agreed that he doesn’t have to help with thank you notes. True story.

Here’s a rundown of the products we used:

As previously mentioned, I got the No. 10 pocket folds from Cards & Pockets (color: ‘Dark Grey’). I also purchased the card stock from them; the color is ‘Cream Puff’. Cards & Pockets had excellent customer service, so please check them out! The yellow mat paper was from a local paper store, but it looks like Paper Source has the same color (‘Curry’) available. Regular text-weight paper was plenty thick enough to utilize for

Envelopes all came from Amazon. Our airmail envelopes were a cute, colorful addition to the suite. I went with a standard white A1 RSVP envelope, which I am acutely aware do not match the white of our card stock, but I was not about to utilize my last shred of sanity on that impossibility.

I borrowed Mama Plane’s rotary cutting set, which aided Mr. Plane in getting those maps cut, but I can’t fully endorse this product as the straightedge really needed to be connected to the mat. Instead it just kind of sat on top and didn’t provide a truly straight edge unless you held it really, really firmly.

All design was done by me in Pages for Mac, printed by Mama Plane, and assembled with help from Mr. Plane and MOH Morticia. The fonts I used for the invites were Freebooter Script and Tall Films. The outer envelopes received the old school treatment with Traveling Typewriter.

In case you are also thinking about creating (or recreating, as the case may be) your invitations, each invite ended up being about $3.30 before accounting for postage (which was $0.66 to mail, plus $0.46 for the RSVP envelope), and not including assembly supplies such as double sided adhesive rollers (I went through about four 4-packs for 104 invites).

WBedited6

Hand-canceled and ready to fly.

While I probably didn’t save very much money with this DIY project, I am ecstatic with how they turned out, that they are one-of-a-kind, and totally us.

Did you totally love your invitations? Have I inspired anyone to tackle DIY invitation design?

Leave a Reply

