Makeup, Hair, and… Salsa Dancing

When I booked my hair and makeup trial, it felt like it was so far away, but lo and behold, the weeks have been flying by and it was here before I knew it.

I posted a little while back about my hair inspiration, and how I’d like to have an elegant up-do to wear on my wedding day. For the trials, I also brought along some makeup inspiration. My initial idea was dramatic pink and grey eye makeup. I really loved some of these looks:

08f2fa9e258b4f87fcf02e0c7adc5dbf

Photo via Kissable Complexions

brunbrunbrutn

Photo via Helen Torsgarden

17mars

Photo via Linda Hallberg

Yep, you got me — I wanted to be a smokey eyed bride. But let’s back up a little, because there was some back story to my beautification experience.

In my hair inspiration post, I also told you about my hairdresser and how excited I was for her to do my hair and makeup on my wedding day. Well, I’m not exactly sure what happened, but I haven’t spoken to her since before that post went up. Despite some text and Facebook messages from my end, she has been unresponsive. She’s still posting to her own Facebook feed, so I don’t think anything terrible happened, and while I understand that people’s lives get busy and their responsibilities change, I needed to make sure I had someone scheduled to do my hair and makeup on the day of the wedding. So, with less than 4 months until the wedding, I began a new search for a hair and makeup team.

I think I pretty much lucked out when I found Fringe Salon. Not only are they located very close to the hotel where we will be getting ready, they were within our price range, available on our day, and were incredibly helpful when I originally called for information. In fact, the first person I spoke to at Fringe was Kim, who literally sold me on the place. After speaking with her and booking an appointment for a haircut (a trial before my trial, so to speak), I felt very positive about the whole encounter. Fast forward to visiting Fringe to get a standard trim a week later. Kim did such a fantastic job on my hair, it might have been the best haircut I have ever received in my life. I was sold.

Ok, enough talk — let’s get to the trials!

(All remaining photos personal.)

photo 2

The verdict: I loved how my hair looked from the sides. I loved how my headpiece peeks out from the back. I’m not crazy about the curls in the back or the side bang — to me they felt a little boring/everyday. I mean, I wear my bangs to the side on a daily basis — shouldn’t I look a little extra special on the day of my wedding?

You can see my makeup in these photos also, since I had that done prior to getting my hair done. While at the time I felt really done up, it doesn’t look as severe as I thought in photos. The most dramatic difference was my eye makeup.

photo 1

Verdict: after trying out the smokey eye, I don’t think it’s the look I want to go with on my wedding day. Even though our reception will be at night, I would much rather have a daytime look for the important parts, like the first-look photos and the ceremony, both of which will be happening in the afternoon.

The smokey eye was definitely right on target later that night, however, when Mr. Plane and I celebrated with some of our friends and family for a joint bachelor/bachelorette dinner! We went to a Cuban restaurant in Detroit, and after dinner they had free salsa lessons, which was so, so much fun (and the inspiration for the title of this post).

photo 4

MOH Morticia, Sister C, and Miss Airplane

Despite the grainy photo, you can see that my hair had been restyled before I left the salon. Mr. Plane gave me strict instructions that he doesn’t want to see any part of my wedding look before the big day. I’ll have to tell him to avoid this post!

Did you have a hair and/or makeup trial before your wedding? Were you happy with the results or did you need to make any changes?

Leave a Reply

