Love is in the Air: We Vow, We Kiss, We’re Married!

While we were planning our ceremony, I knew I wanted to write our own vows. Mr. Plane, however, took a little bit more convincing. We eventually agreed to do a type of mad-lib vow exercise that would allow us to each share our own, separate sentiment while keeping the same general outline to our vows. Here’s how they went down.

Mr. Plane: Maria, you are my best friend and soul mate. You are the one person in this world that I know almost as well as I know myself.

Thank you for always believing in me. Thank you for all the love, support and encouragement. Most of all, thank you for being completely understanding of the crazy work hours my career demands.

fox-hills-golf-course-trinity-presbyterian-church-wedding-plymouth-michigan-studiosnap-photograpny-weddingbee-airplane-484

Today I promise to make you laugh every day. To keep you calm in even the most stressful of situations. I also promise to kiss you goodnight, every night.

I will love you more and more every day. I will respect you and encourage you to follow your dreams, and I will protect us from anything that threatens our relationship.

In front of God and our family and friends, I vow to be the best man I can be to you.

And I promise to 100% honest with you. I promise to never stop loving you and to love you the most when times are the toughest.

All of this I promise to you, today and all the days of our life. I love you.

fox-hills-golf-course-trinity-presbyterian-church-wedding-plymouth-michigan-studiosnap-photograpny-weddingbee-airplane-481

Then it was my turn.

Mrs. Airplane: Troy, you are the love of my life, and my best friend.

Thank you for keeping me grounded and, mostly, sane — today and always. Thank you for all of the adventures we have shared, and those to come in the life ahead of us.

fox-hills-golf-course-trinity-presbyterian-church-wedding-plymouth-michigan-studiosnap-photograpny-weddingbee-airplane-491

Today, I promise to love and support you, to be your rock as you have always been mine, to challenge and infuriate you, and to take on the world with you.

I will continue to be your road trip companion, your date to the dog park, and the one that yells the loudest during Michigan football games.

I will laugh with you, cry with you, dream with you, grow old with you, and enjoy every second of every minute we get to spend together, now and forever.

In front of God and our family and friends, I vow to be your ally, your partner, your biggest fan, and most of all, your wife.

All of this I promise to you, today and all the days of our life. I love you.

fox-hills-golf-course-trinity-presbyterian-church-wedding-plymouth-michigan-studiosnap-photograpny-weddingbee-airplane-492

Pastor Mark blessed the rings and we repeated after him:

I give you this ring in token and pledge; of our constant faith; and abiding love.

We were in the final stretch now!

fox-hills-golf-course-trinity-presbyterian-church-wedding-plymouth-michigan-studiosnap-photograpny-weddingbee-airplane-493

fox-hills-golf-course-trinity-presbyterian-church-wedding-plymouth-michigan-studiosnap-photograpny-weddingbee-airplane-504

fox-hills-golf-course-trinity-presbyterian-church-wedding-plymouth-michigan-studiosnap-photograpny-weddingbee-airplane-495

Pastor Mark: Because Troy and Maria have desired each other in marriage, and have witnessed this before God and our gathering, affirming their acceptance of the responsibilities of such a union, and have pledged their love and faith to each other, sealing their vows in the giving and receiving of rings, I do proclaim that they are husband and wife in the sight of God and man. Let all the people here and everywhere recognize and respect this holy union, now and ever.

fox-hills-golf-course-trinity-presbyterian-church-wedding-plymouth-michigan-studiosnap-photograpny-weddingbee-airplane-511

Right about here our recessional music started. This was another no-brainer. Click to listen along to I’m in Peace by Justin Nozuka.

Pastor Mark: First, I just want to congratulate you, be the first one to do that. And as the music plays, I just want to invite you to lay the first kiss on your new bride.

fox-hills-golf-course-trinity-presbyterian-church-wedding-plymouth-michigan-studiosnap-photograpny-weddingbee-airplane-525

Smooch!

fox-hills-golf-course-trinity-presbyterian-church-wedding-plymouth-michigan-studiosnap-photograpny-weddingbee-airplane-529

fox-hills-golf-course-trinity-presbyterian-church-wedding-plymouth-michigan-studiosnap-photograpny-weddingbee-airplane-530

Yay, we’re married!

fox-hills-golf-course-trinity-presbyterian-church-wedding-plymouth-michigan-studiosnap-photograpny-weddingbee-airplane-534

As we walked back down the aisle to the applause of our family and friends, I felt a wave of emotion hit me all over again. Apparently Mr. Plane felt the same way, and as we exited the church, he pulled me into a teary kiss.

fox-hills-golf-course-trinity-presbyterian-church-wedding-plymouth-michigan-studiosnap-photograpny-weddingbee-airplane-539

We did it!

All photos courtesy of studiOsnap unless otherwise noted. 

recaps_the airplanes

Previously, on the Airplane Wedding…

Leave a Reply

