Love is in the Air: Getting Toasty

This post is going to be a little long and wordy, but I definitely did not want to skip the amazing things people said about us on our wedding day. It meant a lot to me that Mama Plane, MOH Morticia, and BM Chopper took the time to each write amazing speeches in our honor, and I’m happy to be sharing them with you today. So without further ado, Mama Plane, take it away!

“Ladies and gentlemen, as the mother of the bride, it is my privilege to give the first speechI would like to start by saying, on behalf of Ken, myself and Troy’s parents, welcome to all the relatives and friends who have joined us to celebrate Maria and Troy’s wedding. I know that many of you have traveled long distances to be here. Thank you all for coming to help celebrate this very special day.

fox-hills-golf-course-trinity-presbyterian-church-wedding-plymouth-michigan-studiosnap-photograpny-weddingbee-airplane-659
Today, I must be the proudest mom on earth.  Maria, you have grown to be a  beautiful and outstanding young woman and, I must say, a stunning bride today.

Troy, I would like to welcome you into the family, even though you have been a part of it for some time now.  This just makes it official.

The first time we met Troy, we immediately liked him, but we really got to know him when he spent the summer at our home in Walloon Lake while he did his internship at Bay Harbor resort.  During that summer, we saw how hard Troy worked and we knew he would be very successful in his career.  Thank goodness, because he has to be, to keep up with Maria’s tastes!  [Laughter] Seriously, we see the love between Maria and Troy in the way they look at each other, the way they treat each other, even in the way they talk about each other and it’s all of these things that make us realize they are such a perfect match.

fox-hills-golf-course-trinity-presbyterian-church-wedding-plymouth-michigan-studiosnap-photograpny-weddingbee-airplane-662
Maria, Troy, may you have a life full of love,  prosperity and happily ever after. May you live each day like your last, and live each night like your first. To the happy couple!”

fox-hills-golf-course-trinity-presbyterian-church-wedding-plymouth-michigan-studiosnap-photograpny-weddingbee-airplane-665

fox-hills-golf-course-trinity-presbyterian-church-wedding-plymouth-michigan-studiosnap-photograpny-weddingbee-airplane-663

MOH Morticia was next to take the mic.

“I met Maria in the fall of 1997, when we were 6th graders at Highland Middle School–Maria was the only student with whom I shared all 4 of the core classes–we became fast friends and we have remained best friends for all of the 16 years since.

And in those years we have shared many adventures–from middle school to college, travel, graduations, moves, careers, pets and homes.

One of my favorite anecdotes begins in the months leading up to our first fall at U of M. During Senior year of high school, while most childhood best friends were preparing to part ways, I was happy to learn that Maria and I would both attend the University of Michigan. As fall approached, our housing and roommate assignments were to arrive by mail. I had been out of town the week the letters arrived, and, when I returned, I had received both the long-awaited envelope and a phone message from Maria. I had my priorities, of course, so, I returned Maria’s call right away. She firstly asked about my trip, then quickly inquired whether or not I had reviewed my letter. Not yet, I told her. She wouldn’t answer my questions about her dorm location or details about her roommate–she answered only, ‘North Campus’–I heard anxiety in her voice. She dismissed my additional questions and asked that I call her back when I reviewed my assignment. When I read my letter, I immediately understood the concern I had heard in Maria’s voice—the two of us had been randomly matched as roommates.

fox-hills-golf-course-trinity-presbyterian-church-wedding-plymouth-michigan-studiosnap-photograpny-weddingbee-airplane-667

It seemed like a lucky glitch that Maria and I would request to room blind, and, against all odds, still end up together.

I called Maria back, and confessed–although I felt very blessed by this unexpected outcome, I had really been looking forward to rooming blind and I  believed that living with a stranger was an integral college rite-of-passage. Maria admitted she felt exactly the same way, and we were both happily relieved to be in agreement. At the end of our heart-to-heart, there was no heartbreak–we decided not to live together, but remained close throughout the 4 years in Ann Arbor.

A few years after graduation, Maria and I were discussing our future lives and our hopes for the years ahead. And for Maria, although she imagined advancing in her career path; furthering her education; possibly relocating, across the state or across the nation;–the one constant she knew was that she wanted Troy by her side. She told me, ‘I can’t imagine my life without him–he’s my best friend.’

fox-hills-golf-course-trinity-presbyterian-church-wedding-plymouth-michigan-studiosnap-photograpny-weddingbee-airplane-672

And, of course, there was a very brief moment of initial shock–when your best friend reveals the existence of her OTHER best friend [laughter], but my shock disappeared quickly and became happiness. I was happy for Maria and Troy and comforted to know that they shared not only love, but friendship.

If Maria and I had decided to be roommates in college, I likely would have convinced her to accept the very first invitation from the cute guy from Freeland. In which case, their love story might have read a little bit differently, but it would not have altered their happily ever after.

Sharing your home, building your life, creating your family, and dreaming of your future–these are the blessings meant for best friends who can live together and who cannot live without each other.

I offer a toast to Maria and Troy, may they forever remain best friends in love.”

fox-hills-golf-course-trinity-presbyterian-church-wedding-plymouth-michigan-studiosnap-photograpny-weddingbee-airplane-674

Now I’m not going to make any accusations, but a little birdy told me that BM Chopper adlibbed his entire speech. Regardless, it was both humorous and heartfelt.

“Before I get started with all of this, I just wanted to mention how beautiful Maria looks today. So before I even get started, help me toast to how gorgeous Maria looks on her wedding day. [Applause]

fox-hills-golf-course-trinity-presbyterian-church-wedding-plymouth-michigan-studiosnap-photograpny-weddingbee-airplane-679

[An instrumental version of “Don’t Stop Believing” begins to play] I know this song is on your do not play list, but don’t worry, I’m not going to sing. But it’s a great background for what I’m going to talk about today.

For those of you who don’t know me, my name is Jeff, I’ve been friends with Troy for quite a while now. We met back in middle school, and just like everyone else, I loved his blonde hair and blue eyes [laughter]. So yeah, we were friends through middle school, high school, played baseball together, even worked together. All that time we became really close friends, and even after we graduated remained close friends. I moved to California, but we stayed pretty close.fox-hills-golf-course-trinity-presbyterian-church-wedding-plymouth-michigan-studiosnap-photograpny-weddingbee-airplane-676

When Troy first met Maria, I know every couple does have their love story, we all saw that earlier on. But I remember it just a little bit differently. When I first heard about Maria, it was the day before New Year’s Eve, and a bunch of us had decided, hey, we’re a bunch of 19, 20 year old guys, we’re gonna go ahead and go to Canada for New Year’s Eve. We all thought it would be a ton of fun, and Troy was like, I’m gonna bring my new girl, Maria, she’s really cool, she’s gonna get along with all of you guys, and she’ll be able to handle your nonsense for the weekend. Well anyways, as you can imagine, a bunch of 19, 20 year old guys in Canada for New Year’s Eve, we had a great time, and of course Maria was right there with us, and I would commend her on the spot because it takes quite a woman to deal with a bunch of guys she barely knows in Canada for New Year’s weekend.

So, right then and there, I knew, you know what, Troy and Maria, this is definitely going to last. Even though it took about… six years? [Crowd: eight!] Eight years — well, at that point, who’s counting? [laughter]

fox-hills-golf-course-trinity-presbyterian-church-wedding-plymouth-michigan-studiosnap-photograpny-weddingbee-airplane-673

Anyways, even though it took quite some time for this day to happen, I think from the beginning we all kind of knew it was going to happen sooner or later. We knew right away that Troy looked at Maria differently than anyone else and it was amazing, and we all knew that Maria made Troy a much better person. [Laughter]

Here’s to you guys, happy to be a part of your day. I love you guys.”


fox-hills-golf-course-trinity-presbyterian-church-wedding-plymouth-michigan-studiosnap-photograpny-weddingbee-airplane-690

fox-hills-golf-course-trinity-presbyterian-church-wedding-plymouth-michigan-studiosnap-photograpny-weddingbee-airplane-689

 

All photos courtesy of studiOsnap unless otherwise noted. 

recaps_the airplanes

Previously, on the Airplane Wedding…

Leave a Reply

